No matter how bad some people seem to be, there are people who still do good deeds. People who make donations from their resources to individuals or organization that needs help. These donations can come in various ways/types such as car donations, monetary donations, etc.
However, before donating your car to an individual or any charitable organization, there are processes you need to follow, and after the donation is complete, there are things you need to do to ensure you are in good hands with the law. Therefore, do you have to notify the DMV if you donate my car?
Yes, you have to notify the DMV if you donate your car within 10 days by returning the license plates and submitting a Release of Liability to the DMV to complete the donation process.
Do I Have to Notify the DMV if I Donate my Car?
Yes, it is important you notify the DMV if you donate your car to complete the donation process.
Depending on your state of residence DMV, you may be asked to either return the license plates or submit a Release of Liability to the DMV. Different states have different ways by which you can notify them of the donation. As reiterated earlier, some will ask you to:
- Return the license plate numbers, or
- Submit a Release of Liability
For example, in Oregon, you need to notify the DMV within 10 days you donated your car through the DMV2U. After the notification is made, they will update your record with information about the donation but you will remain listed as the owner of the car until the person you donated the car to transfers the car title.
Whichever way it is, you need to contact your state DMV to know what to do. You can easily get the contact of your state DMV online by visiting their official website.
For example, if you reside in California, you can just google California DMV website and navigate through the website to find the number or email to contact them with. You can also visit their office.
Meanwhile, it is important to note that you are not allowed to donate a car that has a loan on it if you have not completed the payment of the loan.
Therefore, if you wish to donate a car that you have yet to pay off the loan, you can contact your lienholder for information about their loan payoff process.
After donating your car in Oregon, you need to notify the Oregon DMV within 10 days of the donation through the DMV2U. They will update your records afterward.
How Do I Notify the DMV of a Donated Car in California?
You can notify the California DMV if you donate your car by submitting a Release of Liability and a Notice of Transfer within 5 days of the donation was made. You must do this to complete the donation process.
Do I Need to Notify the DMV if I Donate my Car in Florida?
Yes, you need to notify the DMV if you donate your car in Florida by visiting the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) in person or through email.
Can You Donate a Car with an Expired Registration?
Yes, “you can donate a car with expired registration” but some charitable organizations may prefer you donate a car with proof of ownership to them. It all depends on the state and the rules of the organization you are donating the car.
Do You Need a Title to Donate a Car in California?
Depending on the rules of the charitable organization where your car donation is to be made, you may or may not be allowed to donate a car without a title. Therefore, yes, you need a title to donate a car in California if the charitable organization requires you to do so.
You have to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you donate your car by either returning the license plates or submitting a Release of Liability to the DMV. The notification should be made within 5 – 10 days after the donation is made to complete the donation process.